McLaren Launches New Single-Make Race Series

McLaren Automotive are on track to launch its new Pure McLaren single-make international race series, accredited by the FIA and held across 6 rounds at iconic European race tracks. Each round will consist of 2 races, for a total of 12 races to make up the whole season. As a further expansion of McLaren Automotive’s current customer motorsport programs, the new series is intended primarily for McLaren owners with extensive track driving experience who wish to further develop their racing careers.

Supported by McLaren’s motorsport experts, the series will allow participants to benefit from McLaren’s 50 plus years of racing experience within a controlled environment. The field will be made up of driver owned or rented McLaren 570S GT4 track cars. Each race weekend format will consist of 40 minutes’ free practice during Friday testing, with a 20-minute qualifying sessions and 30-minute race each on Saturday and Sunday.

Participants will need to have an International D grade license as the minimum qualification, and will compete in 2 categories running consecutively. These are the Pure McLaren overall category open to all competitors, and the Bruce McLaren Cup intended for drivers who have had racing licenses 12 months or less and only competed at club level within the same period. Awards will also be given to the driver who scores most pole positions and the most improved driver throughout the season, while the ‘Speedy Kiwi’ will be awarded to the driver who sets each round’s fastest lap time.

Pure McLaren is already well established as part of McLaren’s premium experience programme and the new FIA sanctioned single-make series is a natural and exciting extension of that. We’re putting over five decades of motor racing know-how at the disposal of our customers to provide them with a track competition experience that allows them to focus on both boosting their skills and enjoying driving the 570S GT4 car on some of Europe’s most iconic tracks.”

2018 Pure McLaren single-make race calendar:
Round 1: Circuit de Spa Francorchamps, Belgium, April 27-29
Round 2: Circuit Ricardo Tormo, Spain May 18 – 20
Round 3: Portimao Circuit, Portugal, June 22-24
Round 4: Circuit Paul Ricard, France, July 27 – 29
Round 5: Hockenheim, Germany, 31 August – 02
Round 6: Silverstone Circuit, UK, September 28-30